Alpaca Facts

The female can be bred at 18 months of age and will carry the baby for 11-12 months.

Alpaca Farms

Wisconsin Alpaca Farm
Virginia Alpaca Farms
New York Alpaca Farm
New Jersey Alpaca Farms
Alpaca Farms Illinois
Maryland Alpaca Farms
Alpacas for Sale in North Carolina
Alpacas for Sale in Pennsylvania

Wholesale Products

Wholesale Alpaca Clothing

eXTReMe Tracker

Ohio Alpaca Farms

Among all the states that alpacas are raised in, Ohio leads the nation with the largest number of alpaca farms and the greatest number of alpacas. With nearly 12% of the alpacas raised in the USA being registered to Ohio alpaca owners, there is no reason not to visit an Ohio alpaca farm today.

General Information About Alpacas

Alpacas are a domesticated member of the camel (camelid) family. The camelid family also includes llamas, guanacos, and vicunas from South America, and the Bactrian and Dromedary camels from Asia and Africa. This family of animals originated on the plains of North America about 10 million years ago. A common ancestor to the South American camelids migrated to South America about 2.5 million years ago. Two wild species, vicunas and guanacos, emerged. They still live in the Andes. It is believed that about 6,000 years ago alpacas were created through selective breeding which was heavily influenced by the vicuna. There are similarities in size, fiber, and dentition (teeth) between the alpaca and the wild vicuna.

Today there are about 3.5 million alpacas in the Andean highlands, most of which can be found in Peru. Since the major first importation into the U.S. in 1984, the North American herd has increased from a few alpacas in zoos and private collections to about 20,000. Alpacas are popular internationally for their luxury fiber and as pet, show, and investment animals in Canada, England, Australia, New Zealand, Poland, France, and Israel, as well as the United States.

Ohio Counties

Adams County - West Union Allen County - Lima Ashland County - Ashland Ashtabula County - Jefferson Athens County - Athens Auglaize County - Wapakoneta Belmont County - Saint Clairsville Brown County - Georgetown Butler County - Hamilton Carroll County - Carrollton Champaign County - Urbana Clark County - Springfield Clermont County - Batavia Clinton County - Wilmington Columbiana County - Lisbon Coshocton County - Coshocton Crawford County - Bucyrus Cuyahoga County - Cleveland Darke County - Greenville Defiance County - Defiance Delaware County - Delaware Erie County - Sandusky Fairfield County - Lancaster Fayette County - Washington Court House Franklin County - Columbus Fulton County - Wauseon Gallia County - Gallipolis Geauga County - Chardon Greene County - Xenia Guernsey County - Cambridge Hamilton County - Cincinnati Hancock County - Findlay Hardin County - Kenton Harrison County - Cadiz Henry County - Napoleon Highland County - Hillsboro Hocking County - Logan Holmes County - Millersburg Huron County - Norwalk Jackson County - Jackson Jefferson County - Steubenville Knox County - Mount Vernon Lake County - Painesville Lawrence County - Ironton Licking County - Newark Logan County - Bellefontaine Lorain County - Elyria Lucas County - Toledo Madison County - London Mahoning County - Youngstown Marion County - Marion Medina County - Medina Meigs County - Pomeroy Mercer County - Celina Miami County - Troy Monroe County - Woodsfield Montgomery County - Dayton Morgan County - McConnelsville Morrow County - Mount Gilead Muskingum County - Zanesville Noble County - Caldwell Ottawa County - Port Clinton Paulding County - Paulding Perry County - New Lexington Pickaway County - Circleville Pike County - Waverly Portage County - Ravenna Preble County - Eaton Putnam County - Ottawa Richland County - Mansfield Ross County - Chillicothe Sandusky County - Fremont Scioto County - Portsmouth Seneca County - Tiffin Shelby County - Sidney Stark County - Canton Summit County - Akron Trumbull County - Warren Tuscarawas County - New Philadelphia Union County - Marysville Van Wert County - Van Wert Vinton County - McArthur Warren County - Lebanon Washington County - Marietta Wayne County - Wooster Williams County - Bryan Wood County - Bowling Green Wyandot County - Upper Sandusky